The New NHL All Star Format

The New NHL All Star Format

Get ready Nashville, it is almost time for the 2016 NHL All-Star game, which will take place Sunday, January 31st at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn! It might be an annual game, but a lot has changed since last year.

As part of this new format (in hopes of drawing in more fans, which has dramatically decreased over the years), the league will have a 3-on-3 tournament with four teams (based on divisions) with 11 players on each, including six forwards, three defenseman and two goaltenders.

Back in November, the NHL announced the new All-Star game format, which has a heavy focus on 3-on-3 tournament play. Not to mention the winning team wins a hefty prize of a million dollars.

The top vote-getters from each division (which is why All-Star voting is so important this year because those are the only four players fans will have a say in) will be dubbed the honor of team captains. Fans will get to vote for the captains, but the league (specifically the NHL’s hockey operations department) will select the remaining All-Stars – 40 total, 10 players from each division.

As for coaches, the coaches with the most wins in each division (after January 9th) will coach the four All-Star teams. The teams will try the new 3-on-3 format, which will consist of 20-minute mini games – first with the Metropolitan and Atlantic Divisions and then the Central and Pacific Divisions. The winner of the final game will be given $1million worth of prize money (much speculation is that the money will later be given to charity). For those wondering, that’s $90,900 for each player on the winning team!

For a more in-depth look at the new format including what’s new and what’s gone from the annual game, check out this article from Puck Daddy.

According to the NHL website: As part of the new format for the 2016 Honda NHL® All-Star Game, the All-Stars will take part in a three-game tournament, played in a 3-on-3 format, and featuring four teams representing each NHL division.

Voting concluded Friday, Jan. 1, with the top vote-getters by division named All-Stars and captains. Coyotes tough guy John Scott ended up as one of the leading vote getters for the 2016 NHL All-Star game and will be the captain of the Pacific Division team. Along with Scott, Florida Panthers Jaromir Jagr (Atlantic Division), Washington Capitals Alex Ovechkin (Metropolitan Division) and Chicago Blackhawks Patrick Kane (Central Division) were also voted in as captains by the fans. The remaining 40 NHL All-Stars were named by the NHL Hockey Operations Department. For a complete list check out this Link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *